Mountain Peak Paranormal Investigations

Paranormal Investigations and Research

The Blue Man Photo

To those that have talked to MPPIR members you will know this picture as “The Blue Man Photo”.  It was taken by a guest who was gracious enough to give us permission to use it.

I can’t give out her name but I can discuss the picture.

During a ghost tour in 2010 one of the Tour goers snapped this picture on her NIKON COOLPIX L19.  Now I know this is a point and click camera and does not have a lot of features to it.  Its a simple store bought camera that is in wide use.

The picture was taken on the 2nd floor, near the stairs in the Outlaws and Lawmen Jail Museum.  Behind the Bars you see is the stairwell leading down to the entrance are of the building.  Only two photo’s of this area have had anomalous features in them.

So my skeptical mind proceeds to try and explain the picture.

The Blue Man Photo

Clearly there is a blue form in the photo that I would as a 25 year photographer consider to be odd.   What most people first see is what looks like a blue face in the bottom of the picture.  It appears to be in the stairwell facing the the photographer.  Being in this building as much as I am I know for a fact there are no blue lights in that stairwell.  There is one green exit sign.

I can say that if you perceive a face in a picture that looks like its in mist or some other object that it should not be in then one has to consider the possibility of your own mind playing a trick on you.  Well call this trick paredoilia or matrixing.   So the only thing I see odd about the picture is the blue light.  You see I didn’t know where it came from.  The light in the stairwell during the session is a green light from the exit sign.

I went back and looked through my reference pictures of our set up and the pictures I took of this area.

From the Stairs Landing looking up.

The first reference photo show the top of the stairs.  Note the wall on the right.  Metallic, therefore reflective of light.  Also note the rivets in the wall.  There is also no door at the top of the stairs.  The photographer would have been standing on the left behind the bars.

Down the 2nd floor hallway.

Right Click To show Pictures if they dont load.

DVR Camera

This picture actually shows a typical DVR camera setup we use on the 2nd floor.  If you look to the far left down the hall you will see in the darkness a tripod with a DVR camera on it.  At its base I found my solution.  There is a motion detector!  We use motion detectors with our DVR cameras.  The motion detectors light up with a BLUE light.

Riddle solved.

The picture is an optical illusion.  You see what looks like a face suspended in the stairwell right behind the bars..  Remember though the camera takes the 3d world and makes it 2d.  The rivets give this one away.  They are from the wall across from the photographer.   Because a picture is a flat image of a 3d world and the way your mind works you don’t notice the wall behind.  Its dark and out of the way.  Also notice how the camera lens bends the bars.  This only adds to the illusion.  The flash on the camera lighting up the front of the picture does not help your with brain figuring out what it is looking at.  You end up perceiving a face that is just on the other side of the bars in the stairwell.  What you see though is the blue light from the motion detector reflecting off the metallic gray wall.  Your mind just makes you think its a face in the stairwell.

I have to rule this picture out as paranormal.

Apposing Viewpoint.

I could be wrong. We are dealing with the paranormal and paredoilia (matrixing). These concepts are theory. However, all Scientific fact begins as theory. It is through rigorous experimentation and review the theory is either disproved or accepted as scientific fact; until debunked by someone else. I would bring this point to bare when dealing with scientific research. Theories are in fact educated guesses based upon evidence presented. Science is not trying to prove a theory right but trying to disprove a theory. What if the face you see in the light is not a reflection of the light but a face formed by the light hitting something that our eyes do not see without the aid of a camera. Many pictures of spirit entities are not seen until picture is examined at a later date and time. You as the reader must examine the facts for yourself and make your own decisions.
Edit:  To Correct Apposing Viewpoint (Thank you Ric.)
14 responses to “The Blue Man Photo

  1. Rose Glenn August 29, 2013 at 11:35 am

    Sorry, but I have to disagree with your assessment of this photo. I have visited that very location many times, and the negative energy there is suffocating. So many men and young boys were abused there through the years, that the look on this poor soul’s face definitely tells the story. Plus, I have captured many spirit photos where the apparition appears to be 2-D. Spirits do not vibrate at the same level that we do in our 3-D world so they appear in numerous forms. I can appreciate that you are professional photographers and all, but I do ask that you open your minds to the possibility that perhaps this is just a lost soul wanting to be recognized!

    • Frank August 31, 2013 at 4:44 pm

      Thank you for your comment. Though I only monitor this site. Comments on the photo’s and stories are still welcome. I wont fully disagree with you on your statement. The face could have appeared for the reasons you stated.

  2. Janet June 6, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    Yeah, I see those metal nail holes… they run down the side of face… and that is the end of metal door at far corner…..
    nothing in door causes shape of head and that eye …. and how do you think a spirit can be so solid that nothing reflects through it? Of course it does…

    That blue light reflects off metal and through the atmosphere in the hall and during the travel of the light, something passed through it briefly.
    Something paranormal.

  3. Brandie Larsen June 6, 2011 at 7:57 am

    Frank, What is the thin line of blue at the very far left of the picture? Is that where the exit sign is, or is it farther up?

    • Frank June 6, 2011 at 10:25 am

      That would be a reflection of the light from the motion detector at the end of the hall. That is what is casting the light on the wall.

  4. Mike Pach June 5, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    Frank,
    I agree with your assessment. If you click on the image to see the larger version, it is obvious to me that what we are looking at is the blue light illuminating the cell wall. Take a look at the far right edge of the picture, and you can see blue light on one of the bars. The surfaces of the cell walls are not uniform, and I think what others are perceiving as eyes and a mouth are simply areas of the suface that are not reflecting the light in the same manner as the area around it. I would also pass this off as matrixing, especially since it’s much easier to see a “face” in the smaller version of the image.

    • Frank June 5, 2011 at 10:46 pm

      Thank you Mike. Its good to have a professional photographer chime in on this one. 🙂

  5. Michael Driscoll May 30, 2011 at 11:25 am

    A very nice capture, congrats to the guest

    • Frank May 30, 2011 at 11:34 am

      🙂 You know her.

  6. Michael Driscoll May 30, 2011 at 11:23 am

    I am agreeing with Janet, looks like a face to me. The mention of rivets, they go in a straight vertical line. I really don’t see where the rivets have a play in this. As you know I have captured my own images in this place, its very fascinating that this image chose to reveal its self to a guest with a simple point and shoot camera. : )

    • Frank May 30, 2011 at 11:36 am

      Yes I constantly get slammed for my explanation of this photo. I will stand by it.

      Though I could be wrong about the face. I am going to try to recreate the photo if I can and give an update.

  7. Janet Creighton May 20, 2011 at 10:45 am

    Looks like a face to me. I can’t follow your logic as to how the full shape of a man’s face was formed through bending light on a wall. You can see light reflecting from the man’s eyes, shadows forming shape of eye sockets, mouth and nose and cheek bone structure….. the light did reveal a face…. I agree that a camera can see what the human eye cannot until the photo is developed.
    good article…. I just disagree with your logic… 🙂
    That is a spirit there.

    • Frank May 20, 2011 at 10:58 am

      Its ok your not the only one. In fact most of my group blasted me for this post but told me to post it anyway. 🙂 I even tried my best to elude to the fact that maybe it is a spirit and that is the only way it could show itself.

      It is a plausible theory that the entity if it is there could only show its face this way.

      • Janet Creighton May 20, 2011 at 7:29 pm

        See, you have a doubt…… and you admit it. You are a good person, Frank !
        I really like visiting this site. 🙂

Comments welcome:

